Federal Skilled Worker Program

The Federal Skilled Worker program uses its own points system according to various factors. It is designed to show if the applicant and dependents will successfully establish in Canada. Ideal applicants will possess skills and experience compatible with in-demand occupations. The selection rules favor applicants with government-approved job offers.

The Federal Skilled Worker Visa is designed for individuals who have the qualifications, skills or experiences to fill Canada’s skill shortages.

Applicants to the Federal Skilled Worker Visa must demonstrate that they meet the minimum visa requirements. These include having work experience in a managerial, skilled or semi-skilled occupation and meeting the pass mark on a points-based assessment. Successful applicants will obtain Canadian permanent residence, which entitles them to live and work in Canada with fewer restrictions. Canadian permanent residents may also be eligible for Canadian citizenship.

How does the Program work

To become eligible for a Canadian Skilled Worker program, under Express Entry, you will be assessed on the following factors:

  • your skills in English and/or French (Canada’s two official languages);
  • your education;
  • your work experience;
  • your age;
  • whether you have a valid job offer; and
  • your adaptability (how well you are likely to settle in Canada)

Eligibility Criteria

In order to qualify for a Canadian Immigration Visa for permanent residency as a Canadian Federal Skilled Worker applicant, you must:

  • Possess one-year of continuous full-time paid work experience or the equivalent in part-time continuous employment within the previous 10 years.
  • The work experience must be classified within Skill Type 0 (Managerial Occupations), Skill Level A (Professional Occupations), or Skill Level B (Technical Occupations and Skilled Trades) within the meaning of the National Occupational Classification system;
  • Score sufficient points under the skilled worker point grid comprising of six selection factors. The current pass mark is 67 points;
  • Undergo language testing from a recognized third party and demonstrate intermediate-level language skills in English or French corresponding to the Canadian Language Benchmark of 7)
  • Possess suitable settlement funding;
  • Undergo a successful security background and medical examination.

Expression of Interest

If you fulfill the above-mentioned eligibility criteria under the Federal Skilled Worker Program, you must first make an Expression of Interest for immigrating to Canada. You must provide information about your age, work experience, skills, language ability, education, qualifications and other personal information as required. Once your qualification is confirmed by Immigration Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC), you are placed in a pool of candidates which are ranked according to the Comprehensive Ranking System.

Need Help? Chat with us